Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Turn with me to the fourth chapter of Luke, verse 18:

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovery of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised.

Jesus took up the book in the temple and read these words, and impressed the fact because of the manifestation of the work He was doing. I believe God is bringing us to a place where we know the Spirit of the Lord is upon us. If we have not got to that place, God wants to bring us to the fact of what Jesus said in John 14, “…I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever” (v. 16). Because the Spirit of the Lord came upon Him who is our head, we must see to it that we receive the same anointing, and that the same Spirit is upon us. The devil will cause us to lose the victory if we allow ourselves to be defeated by him. But it is a fact that the Spirit of the Lord is upon us, and as for me I have no message apart from the message He will give, and I believe then the signs He speaks of will follow. I believe that Jesus was the “Sent forth” One from God, and the propitiation for the sins of the whole world, and we see the manifestation of the Spirit resting upon Him so that His ministry was with power. May God awaken us to the fact that this is the only place where there is any ministry of power.

~Smith Wigglesworth

